Local Resources

Local Links

Volunteering

Interested in volunteering but don’t know where to start? Summit Girl Scout Troop 45273 recently started a project to work towards earning their Bronze Award. They gathered information from organziations in Summit who need support, donations and volunteers and created a website to share with local families, students and anyone who would like to help make a difference in Summit. We hope you will use this resource help people who need help in our town:

www.servingsummit.org

The Library recently hosted a Volunteer Fair where local organizations were able to connect with people who were looking for ways to help out. We’ve included the participants here for quick reference. Please see below if you are looking to donate your time to a worthy cause.  

HOME FOR GOOD DOG RESCUE
Toni Marie Kaferstein
Coordinator of Events & Volunteers
Office: (908) 263-7358
TKaferstein@HFGDR.org 

FRIENDS OF THE SUMMIT LIBRARY
Linda Fitzpatrick, President
75 Maple Street, Summit, NJ 07901
908-273-0350
sfplfriends.org@gmail.com

OVERLOOK ELDERLIFE
Monique Byrne
Monique.Byrne@atlantichealth.org 
or
Gwen VanVolkenburgh, MSW, LCSW
Elder Life Specialist
Overlook Medical Center
Hours: Monday-Wednesday
T. 908-522-3671
Gwendolyn.VanVolkenburgh@atlantichealth.org 

SAGE
Marianne Kranz
Director of Volunteers, Meals on Wheels and Home Support Services
SAGE Eldercare
290 Broad Street
Summit, NJ 07901
908-273-5554
mkranz@sageeldercare.org 
www.sageeldercare.org

RED CROSS
Mabel Ramirez
Volunteer Manager
Hunterdon, Somerset, Union
American Red Cross
New Jersey Region
(973) 797-3354 – Office
(862) 253-8742 – Mobile

SUMMIT/NEW PROVIDENCE ROTARY/VISUAL ARTS CENTER
Melanie Franklin Cohn (She is also President of Rotary)
Executive Director
mcohn@artcenternj.org
Visual Arts Center of New Jersey
68 Elm Street, Summit, NJ 07901
P 908.273.9121 x212 F 908.273.1457
www.artcenternj.org

SUMMIT FIRST AID
John Christmann
Personnel Lieutenant
Summit EMS
908-358-8018
john.christmann@gmail.com 

BRIDGES
Patrick Davis
Director of Operations
www.bridgesoutreach.org
908-273-0176

YMCA
Patty Facchinei
Executive Assistant
Financial Aid/Volunteer Coordinator
SUMMIT AREA YMCA | SUMMIT BRANCH
(P) 67 Maple Street Summit NJ 07901
908 273 3330 ext. 1174 (E) Patty.Facchinei@theSAY.org  (W) www.theSAY.org

THE CONNECTION
Lauren Nisenson
Director of Philanthropy
TheConnectionOnline.org
79 Maple St. Summit, NJ 07901
(P) 908.273.4242 ext 119
lauren/nisenson@theconnectiononline.org

Pathway, a Program for Women with Cancer at The Connection
Lesley Andrews
Program Director
(P) 908.273.4242 ext 154
lesley.andrews@theconnectiononline.org

SHIP
Terence Pillay
SHIP, President
terence.pillay@gmail.com 

ST. HUBERT ANIMAL WELFARE CENTER
Jennifer Lyons
Volunteer Program Manager
St. Hubert’ Animal Welfare Center
JLyons@sthuberts.org 

THE SUMMIT PLAYHOUSE
Bonifacio “Bob” Velasquez
The Summit Playhouse
cell # (908) 380-3502
bvbonjour05@hotmail.com 
or
Pam Heller
Vice President – The Summit Playhouse
pamelaheller@hotmail.com 

REEVES-REED ARBORETUM
Trish Cassin, Volunteer Coordinator
Reeves-Reed Arboretum
165 Hobart Avenue, Summit, NJ 07901
908.273.8787 x1616
t.cassin@reeves-reedarboretum.org 

SUMMIT COLLEGE BRANCH OF THE AMERICAN ASSOC. OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN
Anita Meritt
Pres., Summit College Club.
908-464-2540
anita.meritt@gmail.com 

FAMILY PROMISE
Amy Beth Jones
Manager of Volunteer Engagement | Family Promise
908-273-1100 x38
ajones@familypromise.org 

DREAMCATCHER REPERTORY THEATRE
Frank Hawrusik
frank.hawrusik@gmail.com 

SUMMIT AREA GREENFAITH CIRCLE
Marian Glenn
Marian.Glenn@shu.edu 

CIVIC STORY
Susan Haig
sh@civicstory.org 

SHAPING SUMMIT TOGETHER
Annette Dwyer
annettemfdwyer@gmail.com 
917-969-4534

CHRIST CHILD SOCIETY OF SUMMIT
Margaret Whelan
whelanmarg@gmail.com 

JUNIOR LEAGUE OF SUMMIT
Amanda Block
apb_nyc@hotmail.com 

AREA BABY CENTER
Val Garcia
P.O. Box 384
Summit, NJ 07902
908-522-1600
Area.baby.center@gmail.com

Contact

Tel: 908-273-0350

Fax: (908) 273-0031

Address: 75 Maple Street, Summit, NJ 07901

Hours

Monday9am - 9pm
Tuesday9am - 9pm
Wednesday9am - 9pm
Thursday9am - 9pm
Friday9am - 5pm
Saturday9am - 5pm
SundayClosed
Font Resize