Hispanic Heritage Month

This entry has been published on September 14, 2021 and may be out of date.

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the history and accomplishments of Hispanic and Latino Americans whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central America, and South America.  September 15 was chosen as the starting point for the commemoration because it is the anniversary of independence of five Hispanic countries: Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua, who all declared independence in 1821. The Hispanic Heritage observance began in 1968 and was enacted into law in 1988. For more information, click here.