Databases

Topic

Links

Academic Research
Arts and Crafts
Basic Research
Business
College and Career Prep
Consumer Reports
Current Events
Education
Espanol
Find a Book
Genealogy and Local History
Environmental Science
Government Research
Health
History
Homework Help
Images
Language
Law Reference
Library Reference
Literature
Maps and Photographs
Newspapers and Magazines
A to Z list of databases

Academic Search Premier
Access over 1000 journals on a host of subject matters and 75,000 videos from the Associated Press going back over 90 years.

EBSCO ERIC®
U.S. Department of Education’s Educational Resource Information Center database. Citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.

Creative Bug

Creativebug inspires you to create and then teaches you how!  Enjoy unlimited access to over 1,000 online art and craft classes, plus patterns, templates, and recipes. Topics include art & design, sewing, quilting, paper, knitting, crochet, food & home, jewelry, holiday & party, and classes for kids.  Watch videos anytime, anywhere. Since classes never expire, you can start and stop projects at your own pace. The Creativebug platform includes chapter divisions, note-taking tools, 20-second rewind and more. You can save favorite classes and receive personalized recommendations.  New classes from top artists are added daily.

Consumer Reports

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.

MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines and publications covering many general interest topics including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.

World Book Encyclopedia
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.

Business Index ASAP

Business Source Premier
The Business Source Premier database includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Morningstar Library Edition
Access Morningstar financial reports, screening, analyst reports and portfolio screening. Use the Help & Education link to access information about this database and online course modules on investing.

Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses (59 million) and U.S. residents (310 milliion).
Reference Solutions makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 

Small Business Reference
A one-stop-shop for introductory business information.   It provides general operational information for any type of business with searchable advisory videos.  It has state-specific startup guides and a broad range of industry information including articles and market research reports.  It also provides the full-text of the business-related guides from the Nolo Press.

Job and Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.

Learning Express Library
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, GED replacement, TASC, test, and other exams.

Military OneSource

Military and Government
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Peterson’s Career and Test Prep
Search thousands of college and graduate schools, identify scholarships, take practice tests, create resumes, and explore careers.

Points of View
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.

Flipster Magazines
Get access to major magazines and journals to read on your smartphone, tablet, or PC. For instructions, please use this link .  To get the free Flipster app, search for “Flipster” in either Google Play or  Apple’s App Store.

Independent Press/Ledger Local

Newark Star Ledger

News Magazines

Brainfuse HelpNow

ERIC®
U.S. Department of Education’s Educational Resource Information Center database. Citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.

Learning Express Library
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, GED replacement, TASC, test, and other exams.

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes.

Peterson’s Test and Career Prep
Peterson’s Test and Career Prep helps students and adults be better prepared down the road for both college and their career. Discover comprehensive test prep and career solutions from Peterson’s, a world-leading educational provider.

Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for hundreds of periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in TRC are peer-reviewed. Topics include: Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Referencia Latina
Referencia Latina, a comprehensive Spanish-language database, offers content from a variety of sources including 49,000 encyclopedia entries.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil

NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world presenting fiction, nonfiction and audiobooks and includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

NoveList
NoveList is a comprehensive readers’ advisory solution for fiction lovers. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList answers the question: What should I read next?

NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum. With a fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.

Ancestry Library Edition (In-house use only)
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. This is the library version of Ancestry.com.

Fold3
Historical primary documents featuring U.S. city directories, naturalization records, and Revolutionary War Pensions. Collections include: History and Genealogy Archives, African American Archives, Native American Archives, Revolutionary War Archives, US Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives, and World War II Archives. Formerly known as Footnote.com.

Heritage Hub
Explore your family history with the premier collection of U.S. obituaries and death notices for in-depth genealogical research from 1704 – today. HeritageHub helps you easily identify relatives, uncover new information and potentially unknown family members. Includes deep coverage from all 50 states, hard-to-find content from the mid 1900’s, and original obituary images. Access is available 24/7.

New Jersey Digital Highway

Heritage Quest
This genealogical database allows researchers to search U.S. Federal Census records, digitized family and local history books, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman’s Bank Records (1865-1874), maps, and a wealth of other historical collections and research guides.

 

Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

AHFS Consumer Medication

Health Source: Consumer Edition
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law and more.

Healthy NJ

Overlook Medical Center

Medline
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

 

 

ABC Mouse

Funk and Wagnalls New World

Brainfuse HelpNow
Brainfuse HelpNow offers personalized academic assistance in core subjects (math, reading, writing, science), a 24/7 Writing Lab, academic content and practice tests for skills-building (including SAT preparation), and much more.

General Reference Center Gold

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.

NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world presenting fiction, nonfiction and audiobooks and includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

Primary Search

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center is a full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides 200 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument).

World Book Encyclopedia
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.

 

Image Collection
The Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in these categories, broken down as follows:

  • Photographs
  • Images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI
  • Maps from Antenna Audio
  • Photographs from public domain sources

The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

Rosetta Stone is no longer available as a language resource. The New Jersey State Library, who generously provided this resource to all New Jersey libraries, announced that that Rosetta Stone will no longer be available for patrons to access. We are in the process of evaluating other language learning resources. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we figure out which language learning tool will be best for our patrons.

Legal Information Reference
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.

Military and Government

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

LISTA indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.

EBSCO Literary Reference
Literary Reference Center is a rich full-text literary database covering all genres and timeframes. It includes thousands of synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.

EBSCO NoveList
NoveList is a comprehensive readers’ advisory solution for fiction lovers. With an intuitive interface and extensive proprietary content, NoveList answers the question: What should I read next?

EBSCO NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is your solution for integrating fiction across the curriculum. With a fun and intuitive interface, and extensive proprietary content, NoveList K-8 will be the resource you and your young readers turn to when looking for the next book to read.

Image Collection
The Image Collection database consists of more than 1 million total images in these categories, broken down as follows:

  • Photographs
  • Images from Canadian Press, Getty Images, and UPI
  • Maps from Antenna Audio
  • Photographs from public domain sources

The images consist of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places, and the natural kingdom.

NYTimes.com (remote access)

NYTimes.com (in-house use)

Flipster Magazines
Get access to major magazines and journals to read on your smartphone, tablet, or PC. For instructions, please use this link .  To get the free Flipster app, search for “Flipster” in either Google Play or  Apple’s App Store.

Historic Newspapers of New Jersey

Newark Star Ledger

Independent Press/Ledger Local

Summit Historical Newspapers

MasterFILE Premier
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for magazines and publications covering many general interest topics including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.

News Magazines

Historical New Jersey

Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.

Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus contains full text for more than 150 popular, middle school magazines. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.

Primary Search
Primary Search, designed specifically for elementary school libraries and public library children’s rooms, contains full text for more than 60 popular, elementary school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles)

ABC Mouse

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4,600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8,470 journals.

AHFS Consumer Medication

Ancestry Library Edition
Access billions of names in thousands of genealogical databases including Census and Vital Records, birth, marriage and death notices, the Social Security Death Index, Passenger lists and naturalizations, Military and Holocaust Records, City Directories, New York Emigrant Savings Bank records, and African American and Native American Records. This is the library version of Ancestry.com.

Brainfuse HelpNow
Brainfuse HelpNow offers personalized academic assistance in core subjects (math, reading, writing, science), a 24/7 Writing Lab, academic content and practice tests for skills-building (including SAT preparation), and much more.

Business Index ASAP

Business Source Premier
The Business Source Premier database includes full text business journals and magazines, covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.

Consumer Reports

Creative Bug
Creativebug inspires you to create and then teaches you how!  Enjoy unlimited access to over 1,000 online art and craft classes, plus patterns, templates, and recipes. Topics include art & design, sewing, quilting, paper, knitting, crochet, food & home, jewelry, holiday & party, and classes for kids.  Watch videos anytime, anywhere. Since classes never expire, you can start and stop projects at your own pace. The Creativebug platform includes chapter divisions, note-taking tools, 20-second rewind and more. You can save favorite classes and receive personalized recommendations.  New classes from top artists are added daily.

Enciclopedia Estudiantil

ERIC®
U.S. Department of Education’s Educational Resource Information Center database. Citations and abstracts from educational and education-related journals.

European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750

Flipster Magazines
Get access to major magazines and journals to read on your smartphone, tablet, or PC. For instructions, please use this link .  To get the free Flipster app, search for “Flipster” in either Google Play or  Apple’s App Store.

Fold3
Historical primary documents featuring U.S. city directories, naturalization records, and Revolutionary War Pensions. Collections include: History and Genealogy Archives, African American Archives, Native American Archives, Revolutionary War Archives, US Bureau of Investigation Case File Archives, and World War II Archives. Formerly known as Footnote.com.

Funk and Wagnalls New World

General Reference Center Gold

Healthy NJ

Health Source

Heritage Quest
This genealogical database allows researchers to search U.S. Federal Census records, digitized family and local history books, Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman’s Bank Records (1865-1874), maps, and a wealth of other historical collections and research guides.

Historic Newspapers of New Jersey

Historical New Jersey

Independent Press/Ledger Local

Job and Career Accelerator
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.

Learning Express Library
Test preparation materials and interactive practice exams that will help people improve their scores on academic, civil service, military, and professional licensing and certification exams, including the PSAT, SAT, GED replacement, TASC, test, and other exams.

Legal Information Reference
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.

LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com)
LinkedIn Learning, formerly known as Lynda.com, is an online educational site that features thousands of courses and video tutorials where you can discover, complete, and track courses related to your field and interests. Users will need to create accounts in order to track course progress, create playlists of potential coursework, and keep course notes.

LISTA

Lynda.com (now LinkedIn Learning)

MasterFILE Premier

Medline
Medline provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Middle Search Plus

Military OneSource

Military and Government

Morningstar Library Edition
Access Morningstar financial reports, screening, analyst reports and portfolio screening. Use the Help & Education link to access information about this database and online course modules on investing.

New Jersey Digital Highway

New York Times Digital (remote access)

New York Times Digital (in-house use)

Newark Star Ledger

News Magazines

NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world presenting fiction, nonfiction and audiobooks and includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.

Overlook Medical Center

Primary Search

Reference Solutions
Reference Solutions, formerly known as Reference USA, provides addresses, sales information, executives, for over 16 million verified businesses, and now includes job listings.

Referencia Latina

Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. 

Rosetta Stone
As multicultural communities expand, interest in language learning increases. Language programs promote inclusive participation and strengthen community connections. Rosetta Stone Library Solution meets this growing need, helping learners engage with confidence in multilingual settings.

Small Business Reference
A one-stop-shop for introductory business information.   It provides general operational information for any type of business with searchable advisory videos.  It has state-specific startup guides and a broad range of industry information including articles and market research reports.  It also provides the full-text of the business-related guides from the Nolo Press.

Summit Historical Newspapers

Teacher Reference Center

Tutor.com
Students and parents can get help with any kind of academic question in math, science, English,
social studies and writing. Expert tutors work with students in kindergarten through 12th grade
and can even help with AP®-level and intro-level college coursework.

World Book Encyclopedia
Comprehensive access to encyclopedia articles, web links, periodical articles, animations, maps and more.