We Inform, Enrich, and Inspire the Community

Vision Statement

The Summit Free Public Library will be a resource vital to the fabric of the community. The library will be the focal point for knowledge, entertainment, social gathering and the exchange of ideas.

Long Range Plan

The Summit Free Public Library’s mission statement states in a very few words what the library does for its community. “The Summit Free Public Library informs, enriches and inspires the community.” The library Board of Trustees is pleased to announce the adoption of its ambitious Long Range Plan for 2021 through 2023. We hope you enjoy reading about the improvements underway at the Summit Free Public Library. 

Support the Library

Board of Trustees

The Library Board of Trustees Meetings are held on the second Wednesday of each month with the exception of July and August when the Board does not meet. Meetings begin promptly at 7:00 pm and are either held via Zoom, in the Hickok Meeting Room, or the basement conference room, depending on availability. Please check our Events Calendar for meeting location. Meetings may be subject to change due to holidays. Meeting notices, as required by law, are sent to the Union County Local Source.

Board Trustees

Ms. Celia Colbert, President

Mrs. Christina Amundson, Vice-President

Mr. James Fleischmann, Treasurer

Ms. Nina Sanders, Secretary

Ms. Sandy Bloom, Past President/At-large

Ms. Susan Callahan, Mayor’s Representative

Ms. Courtney Kaczynski, School Representative

Mr. Andy Minegar, Council Liaison

2022 Board Meetings

January 12th

February 9th

March 9th

April 13th

May 11th

June 8th

September 14th

October 12th

November 9th

December 14th